Vick FoundationTranslation Company-EVS Translations Bulgarian | Deutsch  Français |  Español |  Polski | Italiano

VICK Foundation Award Website




Panel of Judges 2007


Amelia Licheva

Amelia Licheva

Amelia Licheva is a poet, author of the poetry books An Eye Staring at an Ear (1992), The Second Library of Babylon (1997), Alphabets (2002), My Pieces of Europe (2006).

Her poetry has been translated into English, French, German, Spanish, Slovak, Polish, Hungarian, Serbian, Russian and Macedonian.

Amelia Licheva is an expert in literature, literary critic and publicist. She teaches Theory of Literature at Sofia University. She is an editor in the Literaturen Vestnik newspaper and is a member of the Association of Bulgarian Writers.

She is an author of the theoretical books Stories of the Voice (2002) and Theory of Literature (joint authorship, 2005).



Angel Igov

Angel Igov

Angel Igov is a fiction writer, translator, literary critic and journalist. He was born in Sofia in 1981. He graduated in English Philology from Sofia University. In 2003, he specialised at Roehampton University, London.

He is the author of two short story collections: Meetings on the Road (2002) and K (2006); the former winning the main prize for a debut book in the Fiction category of the national Southern Spring competition (2003). He is the winner of the fiction prize from the Rashko Sougarev competition (2002) and the criticism prize from the Boyan Penev competition (2005).

He has been publishing in Kultura, Literaturen Vestnik, Capital, Altera, Ponedelnik, Sega, Demokratsia Dnes. He translates fiction and poetry from English. He has been a literary observer in the TV show 5 by Richter (since November,2005) and in the Kultura newspaper (since February, 2006). He was the host of the cultural broadcast Vsiaka Sabota on Net radio from April, 2004 until October, 2005. He is one of the hosts of the Kulturna Rouletka show on Hristo Botev radio.

He was one of the founders of the Litourne initiative, where contemporary Bulgarian authors read their works at busy urban locations. He is a member of the informal Mind Europe network, which unites European intellectuals, writers and journalists.




Deyan Enev

Deyan Enev

Deyan Enev is the author of seven short stories collections, Readings for the Night Train (1987), Earwigging (1992), People Hunter (1994) – the Annual Prize for fiction of Hristo Botev Publishing House, translated in Norway in 1997, The Slaughtering of the Rooster (1997), Heads or Tails (2000) – Hristo G. Danov National Award for Bulgarian fiction and Annual Literature Award of the Union of Bulgarian Writers, God Have Mercy on us (2004) – the main Helicon prize for new Bulgarian fiction  and Everyone on the Boat’s Bow (2006), collection with 61 selected short stories – the annual Georgi Karaslavov prize (2006). At the end of last year, Deyan Enev was awarded the Golden Wreath short story prize of the Dneven Troud newspaper.

Deyan Enev was born in 1960 in Sofia. He graduated in Bulgarian Philology at Sofia University.

He has worked as a painter in the Film Centre, night watchman in the mental disease hospital of the Medical Academy, presser in the ZEST military plant, teacher, text writer in an advertising agency and journalist.

At present, he works in the cultural department of Sega newspaper.




Lyubomir Levchev

Lyubomir Levchev

Lyubomir Levchev was born in Troyan in 1935. He graduated in Bibliography and Library Science at Sofia University in 1957.

His first book The Stars are Mine was published in 1957. A total of 58 of his books have been translated in 36 countries. He is an author of two novels and the scripts for the films Silent Paths, The Ruin of Alexander the Great, Sweet and Bitter.

He has worked in Radio Sofia and Literaturen Front newspaper. He was the Chairman of the Union of Bulgarian Writers from 1979 to 1988. Since 1991, he has been the owner of Orpheus Publishing House.

He has been the winner of a number of international awards, including the Gold medal for poetry of the French Academy and holder of the title Knight of Poetry (1985), Medal of the Venezuelan Writers Association (1985), Mate Zalka and Boris Polevoy awards in Russia (1986), the main prize of the Alexander Pushkin Institute and the Sorbonne. (1989), Fernando Riello Prize for mystic poetry (1993).

On his seventieth birthday in 2006, Lyubomir Levchev was decorated by President Georgi Parvanov with the Stara Planina Order – First Degree, for "exceptional merits to Bulgaria, for the development and popularisation of Bulgarian art and culture".




Winners 2009

Milen Ruskov-“Zahvarlen v prirodata”

Zahari Karabashliev-“18% sivo”


Judges 2009

Panel of Judges 2009 BULGARIAN NOVEL OF THE YEAR: Professor Milena Kirova  Professor Svetlozar Igov  Georgi Tenev Kristina Patrashkova

Validated by W3C HTML ValidatorValidated by HTML Validator,based on Tidy